Activating Links - any potential data loss?

Author Message
haggis 03/29/2006 07:02 am
I tried out OEP to see if it could be useful to me for a club that has sevearl sites. I thought it might be good for backup and for presentations and training when `offline`. One of the sites has a phpBB discussion forum. Today I noticed a lot of the topics on the forum were marked `locked`. Can this be possible if my cookie has me logged in as administrator and I download the site? I notice I was also logged out afterwards. I guess because the link called `logout` was explored. Is the same possible for links like `lock topic` or even, `delete topic`? Is there any danger of losing data? Overall I am astonished at how fast and complete this product is. Amazing! I just want to be sure I won`t hurt anything.
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:02 am
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words! Yes, there is some danger that if some site contains such delete, lock, etc. links, they could be explored by Offline Explorer. In most cases, however such potentially dangerous links re-ask for a confirmation using HTML forms. Offline Explorer will explore such forms only when the corresponding feature is enabled (planned for 3.0 version).

However there are some sites that are poorly-designed and do not ask for a confirmation. In such cases, please exclude any link that you don`t want to explore in the URL Filters | Filename section of the Project Properties dialog. It should be not hard. For example, if some forum uses .../lock.asp?MessageId=jgsxjkghjk to lock files, .../delete.asp?Msg=ghjgh and logout.asp links for unwanted actions, please simply add:

lock.asp
delete.asp
logout.asp

to the Excluded filename keywords list (select Custom configuration) there. Any URL that contains the above inside will be skipped.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Oleg Chernavin
MetaProducts corp.