Synchronizing

Author Message
Michael 03/29/2006 07:00 am
How can I use OE to synchronize links? i.e - remove and delete not working links and old pages that are now 404?

Thanks,

Michael.
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:00 am
Well, there is such feature - you can specify an additional parameter after the URL:

http://www.server.com/.....
Additional=DeleteOldFiles

It works the following way - Offline Explorer Pro keeps a list of all files it downloads or updates (or links) in the current download and then compares it with the lost of all Project files. Old ones are removed. However this may be dangerous - if you hit Stop while downloading, not all files will be processed and some essentual files might be removed.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:00 am
There is such feature - you can specify a new parameter right after the URL of the site you want to download:

http://www.server.com/........
Additional=DeleteOldFiles

This way Offline Explorer Pro will keep a list of all files it downloads/updates/links in the current download and after it completes, it will compare it with the list of all Project files. Files absent in the first list will be removed.

However you should be careful using this feature - for example, if you stop downloading the Project manually, Offline Explorer Pro will think that many files are no longer used and it will remove them.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Oleg Chernavin
MetaProducts corp.
Michael 03/29/2006 07:00 am
I don`t understand the comparison. you mean it`ll try to compare with the MAP file? or scan the entire directory that was just loaded? what about external files (on other servers/directories)? and image files?

BTW - where can I get this list of "hidden" features? :)

Thanks!

> There is such feature - you can specify a new parameter right after the URL of the site you want to download:
>
> http://www.server.com/........
> Additional=DeleteOldFiles
>
> This way Offline Explorer Pro will keep a list of all files it downloads/updates/links in the current download and after it completes, it will compare it with the list of all Project files. Files absent in the first list will be removed.
>
> However you should be careful using this feature - for example, if you stop downloading the Project manually, Offline Explorer Pro will think that many files are no longer used and it will remove them.
>
> I hope this helps.
>
> Best regards,
> Oleg Chernavin
> MetaProducts corp.
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:00 am
There are almost no hidden features - most of them are described in the Help file. Please read How to section there. I am trying to place new hints with each new version there.

That DeleteOldFiles feature takes the list of newly loaded files (with links it followed if `Do not load existing files` selected) and compares it with the Map file, which is the list of all files loaded by the Project.

Oleg.
Michael 03/29/2006 07:00 am
Oleg hi,

I still don`t understand what happens if a certain project timeouts after, let`s say, 1 minute - on the 2nd run. will OE delete everything? what if there isn`t any map file?

I think it`s a great feature that need some explanaing..

Thanks

Michael.

> There are almost no hidden features - most of them are described in the Help file. Please read How to section there. I am trying to place new hints with each new version there.
>
> That DeleteOldFiles feature takes the list of newly loaded files (with links it followed if `Do not load existing files` selected) and compares it with the Map file, which is the list of all files loaded by the Project.
>
> Oleg.
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:00 am
If the Project was downloaded ever, it has its Map. If you will run it again later and it will not load anything because no Internet connection, etc. - it should retry downloading until you stop it or retry attempts (set in the Options dialog) are over.

I just checked the code. Offline Explorer Pro starts deleting old files when the Project completes and it was not stopped. So, if you stop it manually, no files will be removed. If Project URL timeouts and cannot be loaded because of limited attempts, the delete process will take place.

I will enhance the code now, so if there was no connection and no file was loaded because of it, it will not remove old files as well.

Oleg.
Michael 03/29/2006 07:00 am
This is great. I will test it and let you know what I think.

Michael.

> If the Project was downloaded ever, it has its Map. If you will run it again later and it will not load anything because no Internet connection, etc. - it should retry downloading until you stop it or retry attempts (set in the Options dialog) are over.
>
> I just checked the code. Offline Explorer Pro starts deleting old files when the Project completes and it was not stopped. So, if you stop it manually, no files will be removed. If Project URL timeouts and cannot be loaded because of limited attempts, the delete process will take place.
>
> I will enhance the code now, so if there was no connection and no file was loaded because of it, it will not remove old files as well.
>
> Oleg.
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:00 am
OK.

Oleg.
Michael 03/29/2006 07:00 am
> OK.
>
I`ve checked it as I promised.

One thing worries me - if some files are not exists online, but I downloaded them already, they will not be deleted. so this is not synchorizing actually..

Michael.
Oleg Chernavin 03/29/2006 07:00 am
No, they should be deleted automatically using that feature. If you mean files that were downloaded, but not in Map of any Project (so-called Unused files), you can find them and remove using the Clean button in the Options dialog | Advanced | Directories section.

Oleg.