If this is not the case, do not worry about separating data. Duplicate data will be not downloaded for the second Project with the "Do not load existing files" mode. Each Project will export all data it has linked to it, even if a file is shared between two Projects.
The only problem could be if you delete a project, it removes all its files, even if some of them are used by another Project. You should be careful with this.